Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame #SCIVBHOF

Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame

The Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame (SCIVBHOF) was founded in summer of 2016 at American Sports Centers in Anaheim as a 501c3 charity non-profit organization (#81-3695316) to raise awareness for the indoor sport from San Diego to Santa Barbara.


Orange County/Balboa Bay Club coaching legend Charlie Brande and former USA national team player and Hall of Fame UC Riverside coach & Cal Poly Pomona athlete Sue Gozansky have been selected for the 2020 Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame (SCIVBHOF) Lifetime Service award. They will be honored at the HOF Dinner/Charity Auction on Sunday night, May 3 at Anaheim’s Hwy 39 Event Center.

Brande has primarily spent his 40-year plus coaching career in Orange County, coaching both boys and girls on the club and high school levels, including both Newport Harbor and Corona Del Mar. He also was the head coach both the UC Irvine men’s and women’s teams. Numerous Brande players have received college scholarships and he has coached many Olympians and USA National Team members.

Gozansky was a six-sport star at Cal Poly Pomona before finishing a master’s degree at UCLA around playing for the USA team. She put UC Riverside on the map during her 39 years of volleyball coaching, which included winning three national championships and 674 matches. She was inducted into both the UC Riverside and Cal Poly Pomona Athletic Halls of Fame as well as the AVCA and Southern California Jewish Sports Halls of Fame.

“The SCIVBHOF is very proud to have two such distinguished local volleyball representatives as Sue and Charlie to honor with our 2020 lifetime service award and they are both so deserving,” said Mike Gallups, President of the SCIVBHOF.

Brande has been the administrator or coach for 35 club championships over the past 40 years and while the UCI head coach he won both MPSF (men) and Big West (women) Coach of the Year honors. He coached at both Hawaii for Dave Shoji and UCLA for Andy Banachowski in the early 1980s. Over 200 of the OC/Balboa Bay club’s male and female players have earned college volleyball team spots. He won two CIF boys and two CIF girls titles and one state title.

Gozansky, who in recent years was a volunteer volleyball assistant at Claremont High School after retiring from college coaching, has coached the USA in numerous internationally competitions. She also coached in the Olympic Sports Festival. The author of two books also coached four times in the Maccabiah Games in Israel. She led UCR to 20 straight NCAA berths and was always a NCAA title contender throughout the 1980s and 90s in winning the three NCAA titles.. She was inducted in 2016 into the Riverside County Sports Hall of Fame.

“Charlie and Sue are recognized for their accomplishments as two of the most outstanding coaches in volleyball history and they have provided tremendous service and guidance for their athletes and assistant coaches over the years,” said Michael Sondheimer, SCIVBHOF Executive Director. “I have had the pleasure of knowing both Charlie and Sue and they are so respected by their peers for their work ethic and very deserving of the SCIVBHOF Lifetime Service Award.”

The 2020 SCIVBHOF class will be announced in January for the May 3 event. The HOF display is located at American Sports Centers in Anaheim, where the USA men’s and women’s national teams train in preparation for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame

2019 Inductee Highlights

SCIVBHOF Video by ASU Cronkite School

2018 Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame SCIVBHOF Inductees

2019 Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame Induction Class     Photo by Jim Wolf
Front Row (L-R): Eric Sato, Bonnie Bright (for Patti Bright), Liane Sato, Karen Sutter (for Kirk Kilgour), Sharkie Zartman, Pat Zartman, Debbie Landreth Brown, Mick Haley, Rudy Suwara.
Back Row (L-R): Paul Sunderland, April Ross, Ann Davenport, Jeanne Beauprey Reeves, Bob Yoder, Denise Corlett, Tayyiba Haneef-Park, Dave Saunders, Linda Murphy (for Jean Gaertner). Not Pictured: Bill Olsson

2018 Video Highlights >       2017 Video Highlights >


2020 Nominees

Find out who the 2020 Nominees for SCIVBHOF that could be selected to become inducted in next years’ class.
Click Here

HOF Walls at:
American Sports Centers

You are invited to visit the Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame home at the American Sports Center Sidelines Café in Anaheim:
1500 S. Anaheim Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92805 (714-917-3602).


Follow Us Online:

Nomination Form

Download our Nomination Form and return it by September 1, 2020 for athletes to be considered for 2021 Awards.