Doug Dannevik, 2022

He was the longtime successful UC San Diego Women’s Head Coach and one of the pioneers of collegiate volleyball coaching. He coached the Tritons from 1979-1996, and won six NCAA Division III National Championships (1981, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1990), as the division was offering its first national titles. He also had four runner-up finishes in 1982, 1983, 1991, and 1992 for 10 finals in 12 years. He accumulated a 448-199 record and qualified for the NCAA postseason every season. He was Volleyball Monthly Coach of the Year in 1987 and 1990. He took home the AVCA West Region Coach of the Year four times (1986, 1990, 1991, 1993), while producing 31 All-Americans and six National Players of the Year, and was one of four college coaches all-time with five national titles in women’s volleyball. He was part of the first group of coaches that started the 1981 Collegiate Volleyball Coaches Association (CVCA), and played an instrumental role in ensuring Division III had a seat at the table in the national coaching landscape. The CVCA later re-branded as the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) in 1986. He also coached the UCSD men’s team from 1994-96. He was inducted into the UCSD Athletics Hall of Fame in 2013 and the AVCA Hall of Fame in 2019. His local ties go back to playing basketball at the start of Patrick Henry HS and JV volleyball for SCIVBHOFer Duncan McFarland at San Diego State.